Printer
Logitech Europe Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech Europe
Shop Webcams or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HD Pro Webcam C920

HD Pro Webcam C920

Full HD 1080p video that's faster, smoother and works on more computers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HD Pro Webcam C920
Review 1 for HD Pro Webcam C920
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
IAmPixel
from Manchester, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Great Webcam if you manage to get one that works.

Date:17 September 2013
I run a PC Gaming YouTube channel and got the webcam so I could improve my production quality on certain sections of recordings. The Logitech C920 is without a doubt the best webcam on the market for the price! Providing you get one that works. I have recently returned my second camera and am awaiting my third due to two very different issues.
I believe my rating is fair due to the fact its overall cost me much more then the advertised price after multiple returns and having to go out and get a second webcam due to the time it takes between each replacement.
The C920 is one of the most widely used webcams when it comes to PodCasts and YouTube video production due to its wide angle, great quality and price. That said I know out of the 7 people I know that use this camera, Only 2 have not needed to replace theirs at some point.
So, Do you feel lucky punk?
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HD Pro Webcam C920
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rutton
from London, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Excellent hardware, Apple users miss out...

Date:16 August 2013
The hardware works with Apple/OSX, but you are unable to use the camera to its full potential (hardware codec support doesn't work on apple for this device). In order to get full resolution and frame rate I had to use a Windows 7 VM or bootcamp. Missed opportunity by Logitech, so only 4/5.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HD Pro Webcam C920
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jwatt
from London
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Hoping to see _raw_ 1080p over USB3 some time soon

Date:27 June 2013
This is a good webcam as far as it goes, but not quite what I'm looking for. Now that USB 3 is widely supported I'd really like to see a webcam that leverages the extra bandwidth of USB 3 and supports a full HD _raw_ video format. That combined with the crazy pace of innovation in the Web browser space (e.g. evolving support for WebRTC) would enable some pretty cool web apps and experiments. For now though, the C920 is the best I've found for playing in this space.
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HD Pro Webcam C920
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That bloke from London
from London
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A rare 5 star product

Date:13 July 2012
I don't normally give 5 stars when reviewing anything- a hotel, a restaurant or a product, but this product is an exception. I bought it on personal recommendation from someone in the digital video business who clearly knows his stuff.
Put simply - I can't find anything wrong with it, and I reckon that it is absurdly good value. I would have happily paid twice the price.
I spend a lot of my time on Skype and running web conferences professionally. Having good quality kit that is reliable and easy to use is essential for me. This does it all - the image is great quality, the mic is good too, and you don't have to fiddle with it to get it to work.
My favourite feature is the stand under the camera, which incorporates a hinge, a pad and a bracket for a tripod meaning that I can use this pretty much wherever I am.
Like I say, I don't normally gush on reviews, but the Pro C920 deserves all the praise I can throw at it.
+28points
35out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HD Pro Webcam C920
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blueeyedsmiler
from Plymouth
Expertise: Proficient User

Excellent piece of equipment

Date:04 July 2012
I bought this last year after having been recommended by someone else to buy one. I needed a new webcam so purchased this one, its brilliant, sharp clear picture, great sound easy to install, would highly recommend it.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HD Pro Webcam C920
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NotMyRealName

Visual accessibility requirements ignored Logitech

Date:24 April 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Camera and picture I am happy with. The Webcam software is poor. Windows is configured to display everything a little larger as I am unable to read the standard size on the screen. The Logitech webcam software insists on displaying tiny writing, making configuration and use difficult. I would not recommend the product to anyone who has visual accessibility requirements.
I very much hope that someone in Logitech will see this review and release a software update.
-3points
24out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HD Pro Webcam C920
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magic
from UK
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Quality Webcam

Date:14 April 2012
I have been testing these webcams on local and overseas skype connections for a few months and this is my feedback. Provided you have a good quality and reasonably high speed internet connection, the results are amazing. Quality sound and picture is second to none on a wired or wireless connection. I used Skype Beta software to drive this and the quality actually improves as the camera recalibrates itself. The camera is easy to use, easy to carry and fits well on almost any laptop or screen.
Well worth it if you want quality video conferencing for very little cost!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HD Pro Webcam C920
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Howesoft

A Great Webcam

Date:23 January 2012
The C920 arrived today and it is the third Logitech webcam I have used. All have been great build quality and this one is perhaps the most robust. There are good design features, like the way the stand can accommodate several positions - like on a shelf, table, CRT or LCD monitor. It sits steadily on my LCD monitor, mostly above the monitor, where as the C910 sat almost level with the top of the monitor, this one sits above. There is also the ability to put this webcam on a tripod.
The sound is good from the two microphones & improved from the C910. Installation was very easy & the sensible move of not including a CD-ROM has been taken, as the software is usually out of date before the box is opened, so this ensures that you have the latest drivers/software. The software is improved from the previous versions, with improvements in motion detection and how HD video is handled. Recording in 1080p was more difficult using the C910, with this camera it seems to work far smoother & with ease, leading to far better results. The box gave me the impression that the webcam handles the video compression itself (H.264) and this gives the better results - the webcam itself does get warm to the touch, so it is doing something inside. Overall, there is good progress in the software. The only very minor step back, is the loss of the effects at all resolutions above 480p, but this will only affect the children & they can still use them at the lower resolutions, so the loss here is very minimal.
Skype in 1080p - To be honest I was sceptical about this, especially about what bandwidth requirements we would need. However, the webcam did not disappoint. We have relatives who live in a rural area and have broadband of about 1.5 - 2.5mb/s, so we guessed they would not receive the 1080HD video in Skype, but we were wrong. They got the video jump from 480, to 720 very quickly, then into 1080 and remain there. The relatives were surprised at the quality of the video. You have to have the beta version of Skype, which is perfectly stable and can be found further down the page on the Skype download page. We do have fast broadband speeds, with an upload speed of 8.5mb/s and download of 38.5mb/s. This does prevent us from establishing what the minimum upload speed would be required to send 1080HD video via Skype.
We have used Skype within our home on two computers & have seen the 1080 video for ourselves. The HD video is great in relation to the detail, but at times we noticed what we can only describe as great detail, but slight loss in clarity (or focus??) over the C910 video. We initially guessed that we had left a transparent film over the lens from the packaging, but this was not the case. This is not serious, as the video is very detailed and very smooth. It will probably be the best video you will get on a webcam for Skype. This may just occur on our network, as our relatives did not notice this.
This webcam is much kinder to your system resources than other webcams. This is probably because of the onboard video compression (H.264). My 4 year old PC used just 15% of its CPU resources when in a HD Skype call, but as low as 6% when the webcam is playing live 1080p video within its own software.
Low light conditions - It is very responsive in low light conditions. I tried this out at night by switching the light off & just with the light from the monitor, I could easily be seen in the video. This is significantly improved beyond what the previous cameras offered. The focus is much improved and very quick to react to movements of people to and from the camera.
Conclusion - This is not a good webcam, it is a GREAT webcam. It has the correct blend of resolution, smoothness & detail in Skype and elsewhere to allow for smooth & detailed video. My only very minor criticism would be around the focus or sharpness of the video on occasions, but this is getting very picky indeed and could have been down to environmental conditions within my network.
+68points
71out of 74found this review helpful.